Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked up a 2007 2WD Limited with the Hemi for my wife for a pretty good deal in Southern CA. I've been admiring the Commander since it's launch in 2006 and happy to finally have one in our driveway!

It has about 50k miles on it and the only warranty is the remainder of the powertrain from the manufacturer. We sold my wife's other car due to constant mech issues (2003 Audi A4) and we're hoping not to have the same issues with this one.

My question is: Are there any common problems I should know about (other than the sunroof leaking) and be prepared for or are the Commanders being somewhat reliable for you guys with regular maintenance? Any feedback is greatly appreciated to put our minds at ease (or start saving for repairs)!

·
Registered
329 Posts
The only problem I ever had with my '07 was the driver's heated seat stopped working. I had it fixed under warranty. Everything else has been regular maintenance.

·
Banned
1,406 Posts
I purchased mine new and have had it for 3.5 years and have no major problems except for a bad casting of the front differential (fixed under extended warranty). I have not quite 40K miles. Since yours has a remaining powertrain warranty, this may not be an issue, but at 30K, all drivetrain fluids and spark plugs are to be changed. See if you can verify that this has been done. There were 3 recalls: third row seat belt bracket cover, anti-lock brakes, and reprogram powertrain control module. You can have dealer run your VIN to see if theses have been done. There is a TSB for the leaking sunroof (drains may be plugged) and whistling noise from these drains (new endcaps are installed). Other than that, this is a great vehicle, one you will enjoy for many years. Everyone here will back me up on this point. Have fun out there.:eek:rangehat:

·
Registered
3,262 Posts