Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 130 Posts

·
Registered
480 Posts
Re: Which filter should I get?

I've never been a fan of K&N. I got the AEM intake and it sounds amazing. That huge chunk of black plastic between the radiator and throttle body is full of chambers to baffle the sound of the engine sucking in air. With the kit installed it uncorks it. If you get the AEM kit make sure to search the threads on this site as the instructions leave out the part about unbolting the coolant overflow tank. You will know what I'm talking about if you get the kit. It is very easy to install.

http://www.jeepcommander.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1706&highlight=intake

·
Registered
225 Posts

I know AFE makes one with a more complete air box, but I have no personal experience with it or AEM. I did have a K&N for another vehicle of mine and it was great. If you do get a CAI, I recommend getting a prefilter for it just to keep sure you are keeping water out.

·
Premium Member
12,578 Posts

I too have the AEM and it was easy to install and the sound is amazing.

·
Registered
258 Posts

what kind of sound difference are you guys talking about. Also, what sort of increase in HP or milage do you get if any?

New to the Hemi world...looking to tweak out our new toy eventually...

·
Registered
46 Posts
If you want to be kind to your engine AND get a great filter...the Amsoil EaA201 fits all Commanders. 100,000 mile filter. It has almost twice the surface area of the OEM....more pleats and a bit taller pleats...fits in stock air box.

·
Registered
1 Posts
The aFe intake has a pretty cool design to it. I actually ordered one and can't wait to put it on. I will let everyone know how it performs overall.

·
Registered
147 Posts