Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright guys,

Yes, I have read all about people installing these themselves, but they are old, and I was looking for fresh perspective. I just purchased them for my 2010 Black Commander. I need them, since I use the cargo area on top, for a lot. Anyways, I don't have the nutsetter, I was under the impression that it was supposed to be included, but its not. So my first question is this...where the hell do I get one? Anyone got a pic of one so I know what I am looking for? How much is this going to set me back? Irritating to buy a new tool that I will never use after this.

Next question is, how difficult is it to pry those plastic covers off to get to the metal? Don't want to have to go out and order new ones. So I need to be careful not to break the bastards.

Thanks for the help, I am a Noob to the Commander. However been working on Jeeps before I could drive....legally:)

·
Registered
288 Posts
well first off you do not need a nut setter! In the kit you get what looks like a nut and it has teeth on the bottom of it. There is also a bolt supplied as well. Put the "riv nut" into the location in specifies. The hole will look like a hexagon. Put the bolt through the nut with teeth on it. All you have to do is thread the bolt into the riv nut and it compresses the riv nut into place. Just make sure the teeth on the nut are against the riv nut, it helps to prevent the riv nut from spinning while compressing it in place. The plactic pieces should just pull off.

·
Registered
301 Posts