Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Banned
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I searched and found people replacing the entire 3rd brake light unit, but nothing about anyone actually attempting to fix them. I have some experience with LED projects, so I'm fairly sure that the circuit board in the unit could be easily repaired. You would have to cut the back part of the light open to get to the board, but I think it is worth a shot since you would otherwise trash the light anyway. Has anyone attempted this? If not, I will try it before I spend the $80 on a new one.

(If this should be in the Electronics section please move it there or tell me to move it.)

·
Registered
1,501 Posts
I remember there being a post on the forum ref the third brake light and someone fixing it. I did have to replace mine.

·
Registered
1,501 Posts
It is somewhat of a sealed unit and has to be replaced. That being said, I was able to get mine working again by playing with the contacts, which would only last so long. If you could get apart you could probably repair it.

·
Registered
147 Posts
After a good bit of searching, this looks like the most recent brake light reapir thread.
Ive tried wiggling, cleaning, nudging, shimming and smacking my 3rd brake light to keep it working, and in lieu of getting the BFH out, i drilled a bunch of holes and installed some cheap single LEDs, as my last ditch attempt at function. I can take a pic of this once i pull it to put in a replacement. Those china specials just arent bright enough, and i just dont feel like cutting out the OEM board and adding strip lights to keep up this charade. So i went searching for aftermarket replacements, not satisfied with the OEM reputation. Dorman does have a direct replacement around $60, and decent reviews, but not great.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FQ0Q8U0/ref=cm_sw_r_other_apa_i_aE4jEb8PYAFEP