Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I just bought a 2008 Jeep Commander with the 5.7 HEMI, and Quada-Drive II.

I was just ready to pull the trigger on buying a 4" Superlift kit for it, when Superlift mentioned that almost half of the people who install these on "all wheel drive" Commandos experience a vibration when driving. They did not specify at what speed or anything, just that they suspect it's from the front drive shaft.

I'm new to off road vehicles, so forgive my ignorance here...

So I've read on this forum that Quada-Drive II is the best Commando four wheel drive system. It is however, an "all wheel drive" system, right?

That said, is there an issue I should be concerned about before moving forward with the 4" Superlift kit? Has anyone else experienced this issue with QDII and a superlift kit? Is the problem and rememdy known by those in this forum?

One thought would be if there is a way to turn off the AWD function of the QDII when just road driving. Is that possible?

Now I'm nervous about buying a 4" Superlift kit. Any advice would be appreciated? I couldn't find any threads on hear directly discussing vibration issues for QDII with a 4" Superlift kit. Please help.

·
Registered
1,493 Posts
Welcome to the forum Commando, I can't help you with your lift problem, but can tell you that there is no way to disable the all the time 4wd on the QDII.

·
Registered
60 Posts
So I just bought a 2008 Jeep Commander with the 5.7 HEMI, and Quada-Drive II.

I was just ready to pull the trigger on buying a 4" Superlift kit for it, when Superlift mentioned that almost half of the people who install these on "all wheel drive" Commandos experience a vibration when driving. They did not specify at what speed or anything, just that they suspect it's from the front drive shaft.

I'm new to off road vehicles, so forgive my ignorance here...