Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I'm pretty new to the world of Jeeps and 4-wheel drives and quite honestly I'm not very knowledgeable about the general maintenance of cars, aside of course from the usual "change your oil every 3,000 miles, etc."

I was hoping you guys (and gals) could help me understand what type of motor oil is best for my Commander. It's an '06 4.7L V8 with 30,000 miles. I'm the second owner as I just purchased it 2 months ago so I have no idea what was done prior to me. I searched some topics on here and noticed that most everyone agreed that full synthetic was best for our vehicles. Armed with that knowledge, I went last week to do my first oil/filter change. I took it to a place down the street and asked what their "house" oil was. I was told it was Kendall. I explained that I understood that synthetic was the best so I asked them to put Castrol Syntec in my Jeep. I patted myself on the back as I walked out for having such incredible knowledge of motor oil and went home and waited for the call to come get my Commander.

An hour or so later they called and went to pick it up. "That'll be $95.79 please." "Ummmmm, excuse me?" "$95.79 for today's fluid change sir." "Ummmm, how much would it have been to go with a "regular" or "blended" oil"?" "Oh that's only $19.95." So after picking my jaw up off the floor I paid the nice man and sheepishly asked him if full synthetic was something that was really necessary. He said that he has a 4-wheel drive pickup truck and he "treats" his to a full synthetic once a year, running a blend the rest of the year.

So I'll ask you the same question: Is a full synthetic necessary? Can I go longer between oil changes? Will it help with engine life and gas mileage? Can I do it occasionally and run a synthetic blend the rest of the time or once you go full synthetic do I have to stay with it?