Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thinking about trading my 2005 F350 for a 2008 3.7l Commander.. Just have a couple questions. Is that enough power for such a heavy vehicle? Pro's and Con's versus the 4.7? Will be doing some light towing and mountain driving.

·
Registered
210 Posts
Having both the 3.7 and 5.7 in my family. ( me personally the 5.7.) i believe the 3.7 does surprisingly well for the vehicle it is told to push. Our 3.7 has 105k on it, has had no problems and currently is getting 19.3 mpg mixed driving. It is a 2wd sport with a k&n thats it. Towing with it would be interesting but filling it with family and luggage is not a problem. again, this is at sea level, not mountains with a trailer. I have no experience with the 4.7 but the 5.7 is a pig, I am getting 14.3 mpg city highway, milking the highway to keep it in 4 cylinder mode. Coming from an f350.,.. you will miss the performance by getting the 3.7. Being in the mountains, towing and most likely getting a 4wd model which adds weight to the vehicle, i would swallow the price difference for the convenience of the 4.7/5.7.

·
Registered
243 Posts
I love my 3.7, but the major downfall is the QT-I 4wheel drive system that is only all time 4wheel high, with no 4low. If I were you, I'd just hold off for a 4.7/5.7. If you can, get one with QD-II (electronic lockers front/rear).

Let us know how it goes!

·
Premium Member
6,309 Posts
If you plan on towing id personally look for a 4.7 or 5.7 liter XK. The only thing I'd ever tow with a 3.7 is a small 4 wheeler trailer or something similar.

·
Registered
452 Posts
I love my 3.7, but the major downfall is the QT-I 4wheel drive system that is only all time 4wheel high, with no 4low. If I were you, I'd just hold off for a 4.7/5.7. If you can, get one with QD-II (electronic lockers front/rear).

Let us know how it goes!