Jeep Commander Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2006, Jeep, Commander, Limited, 5.7, 4WD, QD-II
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I replaced a TPMS sensor about a year ago with an older grey 974-001 and it worked flawlessly.
I've recently replaced another and this time the same model sensor is black. Dorman chat said they used to be grey then about 3 yrs ago changed to black.
The black sensor works to reveal the tire pressure, however the "Service Tire Press. System" error in the EVIC is constant after a few seconds following starting.
Was I just lucky with the grey one? Does the system recognize and replace the old sensor ID with the new one? or must the new sensor ID be programmed in and if so why now and not with previous replacement?
Could there be another item that actually does need service on the system?
Thanks for any advice.
 

·
Super Moderator
2006 Commander Limited, 5.7 Hemi QD2
Joined
·
2,008 Posts
Check the spare tire.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jklightner

·
Registered
2006, Jeep, Commander, Limited, 5.7, 4WD, QD-II
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Check the spare tire.
Wouldn't the EVIC indicate to "check spare tire" or something. I seem to recall that it did in the past when the spare sensor had gone out.
Are you suggesting the spare tire sensor might be bad?
thanks...
 

·
Premium Member
Dallas TX
Joined
·
576 Posts
i do not think the 06 tpms was smart enough to know which tire was low, just one of the 5 was low.
 

·
Registered
2006 4.7L Sport, QT-II 4WD
Joined
·
244 Posts
Pretty sure it's according to the model. Any year of the Sport just alerts you that "a tire is low". Any year of the Limited displays the tire pressure of each tire.
 

·
Registered
2006, Jeep, Commander, Limited, 5.7, 4WD, QD-II
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Pretty sure it's according to the model. Any year of the Sport just alerts you that "a tire is low". Any year of the Limited displays the tire pressure of each tire.
Correct, base vs premium systems, discussed elsewhere. But back to original question, any suggestions on EVIC message when all tires seem fine?
 

·
Premium Member
Dallas TX
Joined
·
576 Posts
Ok so its a limited vs sport thing.. .sorry i thought is was a year model thing

are the evic on the limited the white on black pixels or the green/blue on black
 

·
Registered
2006, Jeep, Commander, Limited, 5.7, 4WD, QD-II
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Ok so its a limited vs sport thing.. .sorry i thought is was a year model thing

are the evic on the limited the white on black pixels or the green/blue on black
green/blue on black
Speedometer Odometer Vehicle Car Trip computer
 

·
Registered
2006, Jeep, Commander, Limited, 5.7, 4WD, QD-II
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Ok so its a limited vs sport thing.. .sorry i thought is was a year model thing

are the evic on the limited the white on black pixels or the green/blue on black
not really limited vs. sport as it can be set by obd2 for either base or premium option (at least in a limited, so maybe it is sort of a sport/limited thing) using some setting in the magic obd2 Appcar-DiagFCA OBD-II Software
or
Jscan and and android OBDII adapter
the same obd2 reader/adjusting tools that can also disable the TPMS altogether.
 

·
Administrator
2006 Limited 5.7 HEMI Quadra-Drive II
Joined
·
16,218 Posts
I replaced a TPMS sensor about a year ago with an older grey 974-001 and it worked flawlessly.
I've recently replaced another and this time the same model sensor is black. Dorman chat said they used to be grey then about 3 yrs ago changed to black.
The black sensor works to reveal the tire pressure, however the "Service Tire Press. System" error in the EVIC is constant after a few seconds following starting.
Was I just lucky with the grey one? Does the system recognize and replace the old sensor ID with the new one? or must the new sensor ID be programmed in and if so why now and not with previous replacement?
Could there be another item that actually does need service on the system?
Thanks for any advice.
@njbowen Maybe you have another bad sensor? Or you might have a bad receiver.
 

·
Registered
2006, Jeep, Commander, Limited, 5.7, 4WD, QD-II
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 · (Edited)
@njbowen Maybe you have another bad sensor? Or you might have a bad receiver.
here are the EVIC and live data from Zurich 215 obd2 reader
unfortunately, I didn't record the front left sensor ID before I installed it, so don't know if the obd2 is reading it correctly or has the old ID stored. per this discussion: 2006 commander TPMS issue/question/head scratcher......

and spare is at 35 PSI as well.
so bottom line, I don't think it's a sensor, how would I know if bad receiver?

Gadget Rectangle Flat panel display Font Multimedia
Font Technology Display device Electronic device Flat panel display
Speedometer Odometer Tachometer Gauge Automotive design
Font Gadget Display device Electronic device Technology
Gadget Font Rectangle Display device Technology
Rectangle Font Electric blue Display device Tints and shades
Gadget Font Flat panel display Display device Multimedia
Trip computer Odometer Speedometer Gauge Car
 

·
Premium Member
Dallas TX
Joined
·
576 Posts
strange, it appears that its working, have you tried setting the threshold all down to 26 or as low as you can go to see if that shuts the warning off? something about the wording of the warning suggests its not the tire pressures, but the system... dorman is not the most dependable brand, so hoping its not some oddity about them.
 
  • Like
Reactions: njbowen

·
Registered
2006, Jeep, Commander, Limited, 5.7, 4WD, QD-II
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
strange, it appears that its working, have you tried setting the threshold all down to 26 or as low as you can go to see if that shuts the warning off? something about the wording of the warning suggests its not the tire pressures, but the system... dorman is not the most dependable brand, so hoping its not some oddity about them.
thanks, will try that next, which brand do you recommend.
 

·
Super Moderator
2006 Commander Limited, 5.7 Hemi QD2
Joined
·
2,008 Posts
The message of "Service Tire Pressure System " is more than tire sensors. Have you tried a system reset by disconnecting the battery for 15 minutes or so?
 

·
Registered
2006, Jeep, Commander, Limited, 5.7, 4WD, QD-II
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
The message of "Service Tire Pressure System " is more than tire sensors. Have you tried a system reset by disconnecting the battery for 15 minutes or so?
yes, but not recently, will try again soon. thanks.
 

·
Premium Member
Dallas TX
Joined
·
576 Posts
if its not ridiculously expensive, i stay with mopar then denso or ntk
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top