Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi guys im new to this and i have a question, i just bought a used jeep commander 06, v8 3.7 about a week ago, and everthing seems fine except i feel it very very bumpy specially when there is several people in the truck,when im drivng alone its not as bad, its marking the tire pressure low so i put air in the tires but it still shakes when im driving at a steady speed, it is my first jeep so i may just not be used to it i drove a navigator before this vehicle, any ideas what it could be? thanx! =):icon_confused:

·
Super Moderator
14,936 Posts
Have you had the tires balanced ?

·
1,993 Posts
Bumpy how? is it a soft constant up and down? Or is it hard bumps that get faster with speed? Getting more bumpy with weight in it leads me to think your springs and or shocks are worn/broken. Need more details on Bumpy. How much air did you put in your tires? Are they all at the same PSI? Like Jeep5253 said tires might need to be balanced?

·
Banned
1,406 Posts
The 3.7 is a V6, not a V8. Is the shake like a shimmy? If so, it could be loose/worn tie rod ends. With just you in the Jeep, it would be noticeable, but when you add the weight of passengers in the back, some of the weight would be taken off of the front end, which would make the shimmy worse. :eek:rangehat:

·
Registered
3,037 Posts
How many miles on the vehicle?

Have you checked the shocks?

You added air to the tires, what pressure? and you made sure the pressure was exactly the same left & right?

Bumpy is usually associated with something, speed, road surface, going over bumps, etc...

Like mentioned, the 3.7L is a V6, the V8's were the 4.7L and 5.7L HEMI.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6