Jeep Commander Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm new here. A month and a half ago we got our commander, Limited, with Hemi and QuadraTrac 2. Overall, it's an awesome truck. Just one issue with it. When pushing in the throttle to maintain speed or accelerate, there is a weird sound that is somewhat similar to gas leaking from the exhaust, but that's only when the car is at speed and the tranny is in D. Is this sound normal or is there a problem? Is it due to MDS operation or the 4X4 system? Are there any "normal" sounds I should expect from MDS or 4X4 that I would not see in a car? Or should I assume any different sound is caused by a problem? I'm relatively knowledgeable about cars but this is our first SUV and I'm not very experienced about them, or MDS for that matter.

And I've got a couple of minor questions. Regarding the factory warranty, can I do oil changes myself or should I have it done by a certified mechanic during warranty period? Also, does anyone know any offroading sites near Toronto,Canada? I can't seem to find any.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
476 Posts
Hey Scorpion.... welcome to the SUV and Jeep World! Although not new to the SUV world the Commander is my first Jeep product. The JC is indeed an awsom machine. The combination of the Hemi and Quad-Trk 2 afford you the capabilty to trek where other SUV's only dream to.