Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so im new to the commander world, just pulled the trigger on an 07 3.7 ltr. Got a crazy deal on it, interior is perfect, mechanically sound, and I got an extra 50k mile warranty on anything mechanical related. Anyways ive read up a little on the QT1 system as well as the ESP/Traction Control System. I havent looked under the jeep but im guessing I dont have a front diff. I do have what looks to be a traction control button near the information center buttons on the dash. How capable offroad is this thing? I dont plan on taking it offroad as I have my other Jeep for that. Im just wanting to know that if a situation arose the commander could at least get out of a few situations. Can anyone enlighten me on these things? Ive done some searching with no real results on the specific situation

·
Registered
329 Posts
If you don't have a front differential, you may have a 2 wheel drive Commander. You need to check further. Look on your paperwork and see what it says.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Im about 90% sure its a 2wd. Im just wondering what all the traction control helps with. Im pretty sure the button im refering to is traction control, its near the park assist button.

·
Registered
862 Posts
The front end is independent suspension, so there's no really obvious differential to see. Look for short drive-shafts with rubber boots leading to the center of the front hubs from the back side of them.

If it's really a Quadra Drive I, (QTI) it's a full-time 4x4 without a low range transfer case. (Single speed transfer case)