Jeep Commander Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
At risk of sounding like a complete simpleton, I am new to winter driving in my commander. From what I have read here it seems like it should do pretty well. But now that we have some significant snow and ice on the ground I am wondering if I should get chains or should the commander just be able to hold its own.

·
Banned
1,397 Posts
At risk of sounding like a complete simpleton, I am new to winter driving in my commander. From what I have read here it seems like it should do pretty well. But now that we have some significant snow and ice on the ground I am wondering if I should get chains or should the commander just be able to hold its own.
Do you have 4wd? If so, I wouldn't worry too much about chains for normal street driving in snow.

If you have 2wd, chains might be your best bet, but you could probably survive with studded snow tires instead. Just my opinion...

·
Banned
1,397 Posts
I have 4wd with quadra-drive II and hemi
You have nothing to worry about.... that's the best 4wd system available on the Commander.

Keep in mind that just because you will have great traction to get moving and you'll be unlikely to get stuck, your braking performance in snow or on ice will be on par with everyone else on the roads. In other words, having 4wd doesn't give you an advantage in braking.

·
Registered
953 Posts
Keep in mind that just because you will have great traction to get moving and you'll be unlikely to get stuck, your braking performance in snow or on ice will be on par with everyone else on the roads. In other words, having 4wd doesn't give you an advantage in braking.
...and that's extremely important!

Just like in my sig, "4 wheel drive doesn't mean 4 wheel stop!" Live by that saying, and it will keep you alive.

·
Premium Member
2,337 Posts
...and that's extremely important!